Meet Claire Albert!

Claire Albert

In January, Claire Albert began working with Catholic Charities as part of her semester-long practicum experience that she needs to complete in order to finish her Bachelor's degree in social work in May. During her time with Catholic Charities, Claire will be working with women who are pregnant, teen moms, and adoptive families. She will also have an opportunity to work with some of the individuals and families in our housing program and assist with our Problem Gambling Task Force and the work we are doing to strengthen our capacity to support those in need during disasters.

We recently had a chance to ask Claire a few questions, and this is what she had to say:

What gets you out of bed in the morning?

Other than my kids, the cat, and coffee, I have an enthusiasm for helping others to live their best life. Knowing I can help by listening, providing education, or helping others build skills to create a better life for themselves motivates me through the day.

What is your biggest achievement to date--personal or professional? 

My biggest personal achievement to date is raising three children who are kind. They are all intelligent individuals, and my proudest moments have been when a teacher or classmate tells me how one of them has treated others with compassion and kindness.

I also consider going back to school as a non-traditional student to be a huge blessing, in addition to being a personal and professional achievement.

What does a typical day look like for you and what are you currently working on?

A typical day for me right now is coming to Catholic Charities where I practice, and I am mentored in the art and science of Social Work. Outside of working hours, I will be found doing homework in order to complete my degree and graduate this May. Each day for enjoyment I spend as much time with my family and friends as I can.

What is on your wish list during your time here or for your next five years?

In the next five years I plan to complete my Bachelor's degree in Social Work from Fort Hays State University, my Master's degree in Social Welfare from KU, and complete my clinical hours in order to become a licensed clinical social worker so I can provide therapy services.

What do you like most about your practicum experience? 

The best thing about my practicum time is getting to come to work with some of the nicest and most genuine women I have ever met! They have been patient teachers and encouragers as I navigate my practicum experience with Catholic Charities.

What is your motto or personal mantra?

A wise woman once told me, “Do the right things for the right reasons.” Over the years I have made this my personal mantra.

Given a chance, who would you like to be for a day? 

I don’t think I would want to be anyone else for the day because I don’t think I would be very good at it!

What is your guilty pleasure?

My guilty pleasure is sleeping in on Saturday morning! It is nice to catch up on some rest after a busy week!


blog comments powered by Disqus


Call (620) 227-1562
M-F 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. CST


Mail check or money order to:
Catholic Charities
906 Central Ave
Dodge City KS 67801